Escape to Bohinj

Escape to Bohinj Reviews

Enjoy reading comments from our lovely guests to give you a flavour of what to expect when you stay at Escape to Bohinj Holiday House.

We are delighted when guests take time to leave a review and welcome the opportunity to improve our guest experience. 

“This is the most fantastic place we have ever visited! The house is wonderful! It has absolutely everything! We were delighted to return to this cozy house every evening. The location is excellent: the neighboring house is a restaurant, a shop is a 3-minute walk away, a river murmurs nearby, and it is quiet and peaceful. We really want to come back!”

Kirill & Family, Israel

September 2022

Escape-to-bohinj-holiday-house-slovenia-sign

“We had such a wonderful holiday at Liz’s beautiful home. The house is amazing so thoughtfully decorated and luxurious to stay in. The beds were deliciously comfortable and everything has been done up perfectly. The house is so well located in the middle of the village. We walked to everything – the wonderful Lake is a short stroll away and the food at the neighbouring restaurant was delicious. We packed so much in walking in the mountains, paddle boarding, kayaking, canyoning and even paragliding. All Liz’s recommendations – thank you Liz we’ll be back for sure!”

Clara & Family, UK

August 2022

master-bedroom-night-slovenia

“We have had the most fantastic stay in your beautiful house – thank you so much! It has been the most lovely place to return to each evening – you have clearly thought through so carefully everything your guests could possibly need. We have stayed in lots of self-catering properties in the UK & Europe and this has been hands down the very best, and by quite some way! We would love to return.

The weather has been very kind to us – sunshine everyday & some spectacular evening storms when we first arrived. We have spent our days gorge-walking, cycling, visiting waterfalls, swimming in the lake, taking the cable car to Vogel – all the perfect wind-down after the stresses of GCSEs & A levels back in the UK.”

Mandy & Family, UK

July 2022

lake-bohinj-evening-sunshine

“We stayed at Escape to Bohinj in July 2022 and had the most amazing week there. The house was the perfect base to explore the local area and to relax, swim, hire SUPs and eat lots of great food! It is such a spectacular part of the world- I’m so grateful we have discovered it. We aren’t usually ‘returners’- we like to discover new places- however, this house is one place that we would like to return to, and would return in a heartbeat if we could!

I have given the house 5 stars and would give more if I could. It is in the most wonderful location, with the village pub next door (and surprisingly never heard any noise) and a beautiful 10 minute walk through the village and meadows to the most beautiful lake. Next time we come, we’d like to hire bikes for the week. The house itself is stunning inside. Liz and Danny have thought of everything- the kitchen is well stocked, the beds are so comfortable and the towels and linen are of a really high quality. There are books and beach towels and games and information pamphlets about the local area- everything’s been thought of. We can’t wait to return!”

Jane & Family, Scotland

July 2022 

“The house is huge, clean and has everything you need during the stay!


It’s in waking distance to the Bohinj lake, a small supermarket is just around the corner. The beautiful river with clear water is just in front of the house.


We absolutely recommend this house if you visit Slovenia!”

Yurie, Germany

June 2022

luxury-holiday-house-slovenia

“This place is amazing and we hope to come back.”

Lenka, Czech Republic

April 2022

mountain-views-escape-to-bohinj

Incredible House in an Incredible Location

“Stayed for a week with friends. Lots of walking, running, cycling and chilling. Perfect location to decompress with beautiful scenery and a very well setup house. A very easy journey from Ljubliana airport and very good public transport connections. In particular the train from the next town over which went through the mountain was very well setup to take bikes!”

Conor, UK

April 2022

Lake Bohinj in Spring

Amazing House, Great Location

“My friends and I stayed for 6 wonderful nights at the house and had an amazing time. The house is in an ideal location right next to two shops, a restaurant, a bar, and only a 5 minute walk from Lake Bohinj.

There’s also lots to do in the area. We managed to fit in walks, a bike ride, lake swimming, and a trip to Ljubljana, however, in our 6 nights we only scratched the surface and will definitely be returning!”

Sam, UK

April 2022

bohinj-holiday-house

“There cannot be a better place to stay in all of Slovenia. The house is perfectly renovated, incorporating old tradition with modern comfort. It is equipped with everything you need for a comfortable and easy retreat. 

The location is divine. A pure alpine paradise right out the front door. And easy day trips to nearby Bled and Ljubljana. We greatly enjoyed our family vacation at Escape to Bohinj!”

Emma, Poland, @ExploreMoreCo

April 2022

family-holiday-house-slovenia

“We stayed 4 nights in the house, it was excellent. The high quality of furnishing, nice interior impressed us. Very comfortable beds! Well equipped kitchen, beautiful woodwork and fine textiles. Good communication, quick solutions. 

The Bohinj area is fantastic for skiing, hiking, biking. Cute little villages and gorgeous mountain plus lake scenery. Perfect central location next to the river. Definitely return one day. Highly recommended.”

Kriston Family, Hungary

January 2022

Spacious master bedroom at Escape to Bohinj holiday home Slovenia

Outstanding in so many ways

“Thank you for providing such a welcoming, relaxing home to complement our 2 weeks in this stunning location. Your house was everything we wanted – and more! The little extras – books, games, DVDs…and some very useful maps, made such a difference for our family.

“Everything was 1st class – cleanliness, spaciousness, facilities, location, and most importantly – communication regarding every step of booking out stay. Having to postpone our 2019 trip was made much bearable thanks to your understanding and assistance. 2 weeks of swimming, SUPing, biking, hiking, eating, relaxing. Bliss!

“Best wishes for the rest of the season & beyond. Congratulations on creating this little home away from home.”

Stuart & Magdalene & Family, Prague

August 2021

Fantastic House and Beautiful and Convenient Location near Lake

“We had the most fantastic stay at this beautiful house a short walk from Lake Bohinj and conveniently located near food shops and restaurants. The house is very spacious and decorated to a very high standard, whilst retaining many traditional-style features. Every last detail has been thought of and we really felt like we were at home. We would highly recommend this property and the area around Lake Bohinj which is absolutely stunning. 

“The house is in a perfect location for all kinds of tourists – those who just want to relax and swim in the lake and those who want to be more adventurous.”

Alex & Rob & Family, England

July 2021

vacation-house-lake-bohinj

“We enjoyed a wonderful autumn break with our two boys aged 10 and 12.  Pr Méžnarjo is a real “home from home” with everything you could need for a relaxing break set in the idyllic surroundings of Bohinj.  Lots to do for young and old, whatever the weather.  We hope to be back!” 

Simon, Lynsey & Family, Germany

October 2020

autumn-colours-bohinj-slovenia

“What a stunning house! Hints of the old building coupled with contemporary finishes have made a house a home. We will really miss the mountainscapes from the many different windows, including the tiny ones in the loft. All in all, it has been a wonderful week exploring mountains, waterfalls and the untouched parts of Slovenia. Highlights include the Mostnica Gorge and the Voje waterfall, paragliding down from Vogel and seeing the vast landscape, walking the lake and, of course, spending time in and on the lake!”

Scott & Jo, England

September 2019

master-bedroom-escape-to-bohinj-slovenia

“I would thoroughly recommend Pr Méžnarjo. The quality of accommodation, the stunning scenery, the climate and the wide range of activities make it a great place for a family holiday.

“We’re a family of four with two boys aged 12 and 14. We were looking for an active holiday with sunshine and water sports, but had found most Mediterranean destinations just too hot in July. Lake Bohinj fitted the bill perfectly, and Pr Méžnarjo provided the ideal base for a week’s stay.

“The accommodation is immaculate and spacious, with all the facilities to self-cater. The top floor room is enormous with fantastic views out to the mountains, and the body-hugging bed in the first floor double is worth fighting for when you arrive! We loved the walk down to the lake, hiring boats and bikes (all great value) and just enjoying the scenery and tranquillity. There are plenty of walking options too, and if you like a morning jog, the 12k loop of the lake will set you up perfectly for the day. All in all, a very special experience. We only wish we’d stayed longer!”

Mikey, Lucy & Family, Scotland

July 2019

Super-king size bed, Escape to Bohinj holiday home Slovenia

“What a fabulous house, village and area! We had the most incredible time hiking and enjoying some much needed relaxing time by the lake and at the house. Such a beautiful and well-kitted out place.”

Jim, Barney, Rob & Rich, England

July 2019

hiking julian alps

“On the first morning I woke @escapetobohinj, I lay in bed listening to the river flowing and instantly felt relaxed. I texted Liz and said, ‘as the river rushes by, I rush nowhere.’ The calm one feels from this home is priceless, especially when you have few precious days to holiday before hitting work again. 

“This was our first time in Slovenia and, as a family of five on new turf, the logistics couldn’t have been easier. When you arrive at the house, you will see that no detail has been overlooked. The stunning design alongside perfect functionality only get the holiday vibes coming on quicker. Danny and Liz have prepared a comprehensive folder which answers literally every question we had as to where something might be, how it might work or where we might go.

“Ours was a sedentary holiday (brunch, an afternoon hike, reading, dinner… repeat) but there really is something for everyone in Bohinj. The lake water was crystal clear and unexpectedly warm. It’s also ‘engine free’ so we very much enjoyed paddle boarding and rowing with the stunning backdrop of the mountains, while others were paragliding, hiking and taking the cable car to higher heights. I wholeheartedly recommend you prioritise your next holiday with @escapetobohinj.”

Ru, Jon & Family, England

July 2019

Kids love to watch fish swimming at Lake Bohinj in Slovenia
Quiet swimming beach at Lake Bohinj in Slovenia

“What a lovely house and a beautiful area. It has been so relaxing here, the lake, the mountains and the wildflowers; I think Stara Fužina must be one of the prettiest villages in the world.”

Siobhan, David & Family, UK

June 2019

Garden at Escape to Bohinj holiday home in the Triglav National Park Slovenia